Sign in to follow this  
smashmouths@blf

What Job did u turn down and now you regret it?

Got offered a Marketing job with the Kansas City Royals about 10 years ago. I lived in a different state and didn't want to uproot my young family. Kids were all in school and had good friends and teachers. Wifey 34C had a good teaching job as well. I'm not sure if I regret the decision but I often wonder "what if". What about you guys?

I rarely get to the point of getting an offer without knowing emotionally that I want the job, so I can't think of any specific regrets. For those who remember my offer from the jeebus company last year, that was an exception, and turning that down was a great decision.

From an overall career perspective though... my biggest regret was not pursuing venture capital in the mid 90s. I got my MBA in '94 and thought about it, but I had just gotten married and we both had "good" careers going so I didn't want to upend us and move to the Bay Area. I ended up going into tech sales which made me a lot of money, but I could have made an obscene amount (maybe) if I had made that move.

It was between me and Ron Jeremy and well I was more modest back then.

I rarely get to the point of getting an offer without knowing emotionally that I want the job, so I can't think of any specific regrets.

Same here

I turned down an offer to test video games for microsoft.I did not want to move to redmond and it was only 12 bucks an hour which is the same as I was making as an IT recruiter. I think it would have been fun to do that all day but 12 an hour in washington state is not 12 an hour in michigan.

Could have gone to Japan for a 2-year stint early in my career. Was seriously thinking about it but eventually pussied-out and turned it down (too young and immature). got laid-off 6 months later. :doh: