Jump to content



Photo

It's a catch!


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 polecatt

polecatt

    FF Geek

  • Members
  • 2,627 posts

Posted 27 February 2018 - 05:45 PM

So the NFL is finally fixing the catch rule, or at least in part.

Under the new rules, the famous Dez Bryant and Calvin Johnson plays would be a catch.

Better late than never I guess.

 

 

 



#2 Vikings4ever

Vikings4ever

    FF Geek

  • Members
  • 38,781 posts

Posted 27 February 2018 - 05:59 PM

Now watch them be completely inconsistent between incomplete pass and fumble.
People are bastard coated bastards with bastard filling

#3 polecatt

polecatt

    FF Geek

  • Members
  • 2,627 posts

Posted 27 February 2018 - 06:30 PM

I'm sure they will screw it up some how



#4 Manifesto

Manifesto

    FF Rookie

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 27 February 2018 - 07:59 PM

Won't prevent the officials from screwing it up


The lambs hate the sheep dog, until the wolves come lurking at the doorstep.


#5 seafoam1

seafoam1

    FF Geek

  • Members
  • 4,451 posts

Posted 27 February 2018 - 08:49 PM

It is not officials screwing things up. It's the stupid rules they are asked to enforce. Get rid of all the catch rules except 2 of them.

1) Simply judge if at any time the receiver controls the ball at any single moment during the play.
2) 2 feet in bounds after the catch is made as is current rules

No football moves, no steps requirements, no possesion surviving the ground, etc...

It's either a controlled catch or not, even if only for a second.

Both catches and fumbles after the catch will increase, but that is the result of the play once the play ends. Reviews can still overturn, and fans will still argue, but that will be part of the fun.

Catch or not, then whatever happens, happens after the catch. Easy peasy.

#6 Smileseers

Smileseers

    FF Geek

  • Members
  • 536 posts

Posted 27 February 2018 - 11:06 PM

So the NFL is finally fixing the catch rule, or at least in part.

Under the new rules, the famous Dez Bryant and Calvin Johnson plays would be a catch.

Better late than never I guess.

 

 

This thread is misleading.

 

Actually the NFL admitted that BOTH of those catches were catches under the OLD rules.


STEELERS

#7 polecatt

polecatt

    FF Geek

  • Members
  • 2,627 posts

Posted 28 February 2018 - 11:14 AM

 

This thread is misleading.

 

Actually the NFL admitted that BOTH of those catches were catches under the OLD rules.

How is it misleading? They also said the replacement refs were as good as the regular ones.

I said they are changing the catch rule and famous cases of incomplete passes would now be catches.

What is misleading about that?



#8 Big Guy

Big Guy

    FF Geek

  • Members
  • 6,839 posts

Posted 09 March 2018 - 01:42 PM

Most of us already knew that DEZ CAUGHT IT!   :headbanger: 

 

But yeah, it's good to see the NFL finally admit it. 


             

 

 

 

 

 


#9 Mike FF Today

Mike FF Today

    Administrator

  • Admin
  • 11,731 posts

Posted 27 March 2018 - 11:54 AM

New catch rule has been approved.

 

The catch rule, proposed by the league's competition committee at the behest of commissioner Roger Goodell, will eliminate the requirement to maintain control of the ball throughout the process of going to the ground. Instead, it will define a catch with a simpler three-step process: A receiver must control of the ball, establish himself in bounds and perform a football move such as taking a third step or lunging with the ball in hand.

 

Most important to the league, the change means that plays such as those involving Detroit Lions receiver Calvin Johnson (2010) and Dallas Cowboys receiver Dez Bryant (2014) will in the future be ruled catches.


Follow me to the best fantasy draft program in the business.
_____________

Like FFToday on Facebook | Follow FFToday on Twitter


#10 seafoam1

seafoam1

    FF Geek

  • Members
  • 4,451 posts

Posted 27 March 2018 - 12:17 PM

New catch rule has been approved.
 
Most important to the league, the change means that plays such as those involving Detroit Lions receiver Calvin Johnson (2010) and Dallas Cowboys receiver Dez Bryant (2014) will in the future be ruled catches.


As well as Pittsburgh's Jesse James last year.

#11 TBayXXXVII

TBayXXXVII

    FF Geek

  • Members
  • 1,716 posts

Posted 27 March 2018 - 12:36 PM

As well as Pittsburgh's Jesse James last year.

 

In my opinion, there can't be a rule that would say that was a catch.  He lost control during the dive and the ball was clearly on the ground with one hand on the side and one on top... not on the bottom.  That should never be a catch.  Ever.



#12 ralphster

ralphster

    FF Geek

  • Members
  • 3,145 posts

Posted 27 March 2018 - 01:42 PM

 
In my opinion, there can't be a rule that would say that was a catch.  He lost control during the dive and the ball was clearly on the ground with one hand on the side and one on top... not on the bottom.  That should never be a catch.  Ever.


In the open field I'd likely agree, but as soon as he broke the plane it should have been a TD imo.
“When I played pro football, I never set out to hurt anyone deliberately - unless it was, you know, important, like a league game or something” ~ D. Butkus

#13 seafoam1

seafoam1

    FF Geek

  • Members
  • 4,451 posts

Posted 27 March 2018 - 06:08 PM

 
In my opinion, there can't be a rule that would say that was a catch.  He lost control during the dive and the ball was clearly on the ground with one hand on the side and one on top... not on the bottom.  That should never be a catch.  Ever.

There have been zillions of plays where the player reaches over the goal line palming it with one hand over the top. Also you say James lost control, that means he must have had control, and then in the endzone. There was no recovered fumble called. Therefore TD before it even hits the ground.

#14 Gepetto

Gepetto

    FF Geek

  • Members
  • 16,015 posts

Posted 27 March 2018 - 09:19 PM

What if receiver runs a slant to the goal line, ball is thrown high but he comes down with the ball over the plane of the goal and both feet down but then gets popped by the safety and the ball comes out and goes out the back of the end zone.
Touchdown? Incomplete? Turnover and other team's ball 1st and 10 at the 20?

#15 weepaws

weepaws

    FF Geek

  • Members
  • 18,655 posts

Posted 27 March 2018 - 09:50 PM

Both feet down and control, heck son that's a touchdown and 6 ff points.

Amen
Godswillbedone Revelation 20:15. And who so ever was not found written in the book of life was cast into the lake of fire.
All ways lead to God, everyone one will be judged and then sentence, but there is only one way to Heaven and thats though Jesus Christ Lord and Savior. God Bless

Isaiah 12:2. Luke 14:23. Daniel 4:37. 2 Kings 17:39. Nahum 1:7. 1 Timothy 6:18-19. Psalm 9:7&8.
Psalm 34:18. Ezra 8:22. 2 Corinthians 1:3. Ezekiel 36:26. Matthew 7:24-25. Proverbs 28:21&27. 1 Peter 3.
1 John 3:16. Lamentations 3:25. Proverbs 10:27. Ephesians 6:13 Ezekiel 18:21-22. 2 Corinthians 10:5
Proverbs 15:29. Proverbs 18:12. 1 John 2:1-2. Ephesians 6:19. 2 Timothy 2:3-4. 1 Peter 4:14
Proverbs 23:12. Psalm 121:7-8. Ephesians 1:7. Deuteronomy 28:11-13. Romans 10:10. Romans 8:31
2 Peter 3:9. Isaiah 5:21. Proverbs 11:2. Matthews 5:16. Romans 12:14. James 1:8.
Psalm 58:11. Ezekiel 33:11-13. Hosea 14:9. Psalm 100:4. Romans 14:9. 2 Chronicles 32:8.
John 3:3-7. Philippians 2:11. Titus 2:11-14. Ephesians 4:2. Romans 11:33. Proverbs 12:1&26.
1 Timothy 1:15. Psalm 119:6. Proverbs 22:4. Psalm 46:1. Romans 12:17-21. 2 Chronicles 34&35.

#16 titans&bucs&bearsohmy!

titans&bucs&bearsohmy!

    FF Geek

  • Members
  • 26,072 posts

Posted 28 March 2018 - 05:34 AM

What if receiver runs a slant to the goal line, ball is thrown high but he comes down with the ball over the plane of the goal and both feet down but then gets popped by the safety and the ball comes out and goes out the back of the end zone.
Touchdown? Incomplete? Turnover and other team's ball 1st and 10 at the 20?


The instant his feet hit the ground play is over.

Hell, you could technically call unnecessary roughness on hits in the end zone, as there is no scenario under which blasting a receiver in the end zone affects the play.

#17 TBayXXXVII

TBayXXXVII

    FF Geek

  • Members
  • 1,716 posts

Posted 28 March 2018 - 08:15 AM

There have been zillions of plays where the player reaches over the goal line palming it with one hand over the top. Also you say James lost control, that means he must have had control, and then in the endzone. There was no recovered fumble called. Therefore TD before it even hits the ground.

 

Yes "had", but as I also said "lost control during the dive".  Hence, as the ball was crossing the line, he did NOT have possession of the ball.  When he lands, the ball was clearly on the ground.  Therefore, it's not a catch.  Under no rule should it be.



#18 seafoam1

seafoam1

    FF Geek

  • Members
  • 4,451 posts

Posted 28 March 2018 - 11:41 AM

 
Yes "had", but as I also said "lost control during the dive".  Hence, as the ball was crossing the line, he did NOT have possession of the ball.  When he lands, the ball was clearly on the ground.  Therefore, it's not a catch.  Under no rule should it be.

If you have control of the ball, and then dive for the endzone and lose control of the ball, but recover it before anyone else does, it's your ball

So first, he controlled the catch, then it moved as he was putting it down in the endzone. Control = catch. Losing control in the endzone means that he got into the endzone before he put it down on the turf. Getting the ball into the enzone means TD.

#19 TBayXXXVII

TBayXXXVII

    FF Geek

  • Members
  • 1,716 posts

Posted 29 March 2018 - 08:41 AM

If you have control of the ball, and then dive for the endzone and lose control of the ball, but recover it before anyone else does, it's your ball

So first, he controlled the catch, then it moved as he was putting it down in the endzone. Control = catch. Losing control in the endzone means that he got into the endzone before he put it down on the turf. Getting the ball into the enzone means TD.

 

Not if you get control of it while it's on the ground.  Once it's on the ground, it's an incomplete pass.  If you aren't controlling the ball while in the process of making the third move, then you aren't actually making the third move.  If his hands were under the ball at the end of the play, then yes, it would be a catch.  But it wasn't.  The ball was physically sitting on the ground with him on top.  Meaning, he never actually possessed the ball while making that third move.  Hence, incomplete.