Sign in to follow this  
Nexrad

Fantasy Football used for teaching math in school

Hello,

I am a school teacher and an avid FF player. Next year I want to start he year off with using fantasy football to support arithmetic practice and to make predictions based off of collected data.

I have some ideas already about what it would look like and how to create meaningful scoring for students to practice arithmetic while making decision about who to start in the next week, but am open to suggestions if you have creative ways you think that FF could support math instruction.

What I would love to get from this community are personal antidotes (maybe from professionals who use math, stats, probability in their careers) that I could use, when pitching it to parents and administrators, to support this idea (or reasons not to incorporate FF). I will not share anything from this board without permission, but thought this could be a place to get the ball rolling.

Thank you and have a great day!

• Like 1

I tried to do this and was given a big NO by admin, but I wanted to have my kids join leagues and compete.They said it was gambling.

I would agree that it is gambling.

Don't see why it needs to be used in schools for teaching.

I think teachers need to go back to the fundamentals and teach.

I find teachers to be lazy in their work habits today, and looking for an easier way to earn a pay check.

There's plenty of math concepts involved in fantasy football nowadays.

Look at the material people like Josh Hermsmeyer, Adam Harstad or Scott Barrett put out. A lot of analytics based data that uses medians, means, etc. Graphical quantitative data subsets as well.

NumberFire has a lot of fascinating information as well.

Below is a site that uses simplistic quantitative data, not fantasy football related, to do outliers on games. The guy lives here in San Luis Obispo. Pretty interesting stuff as well.

http://www.theq5.com/

• Like 1