Sign in to follow this  
Hardcore troubadour

Betsy DeVoss, Of Course She Did

She put a guy who was the CEO of a student loan company in charge of student loans. Come on man.

I may be in the minority on this one, but I actually think having someone like this is good.

Johnson is being labeled as a bad person because he worked for a "for profit" student loan company. Every student loan company is "for profit" though isn't it?

The bigger issue with student loans is the exorbitant cost of tuition/books. Colleges are turning into all-inclusive resorts rather than places of learning, and the students are paying the tab for it.

During my time in school, a lavish rec center was being built. Indoor track, massive gym, the whole works. It didn't open until the semester after I graduated. Only current enrolled students could use it, despite increased tuition during my tenure that undoubtedly was going towards it's construction.

Address the criminal activities of these schools, and student loan debt will fix itself

You're completely missing something geraldi. It's really not as much the folks who go to a full-on legitimate University that are the subject of predatory loans. Where they really screw people over our poor people who end up going to some b******* pseudo Technical College that is just them business of working with the loan companies to screw the poor over. That's why they crack down so hard on for profit colleges and universities. And why so many have rebranded themselves. These loan companies are incredibly predatory and prey on the weak and the poor and the uneducated. It is about as close to Usery as you can get.

It's called making decisions and living with the consequences.

If you go to a seedy car dealership, are you expecting the same product to be sold as the reputable one?

Come on man. Anyone that goes to Trump University, or the Corinthean colleges should have done some proper research about what they were investing that much money into.