Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  

Fantasy Basketball/Football League in Search of Owners

Recommended Posts

The ‘NCAA Fantasy League’ is a 90-team, seven conference league that was set up to mirror the NCAA. The AAC, ACC, Big 10, Big 12, Mountain West, PAC 12 and SEC Conferences are used and each will use their own player universe. You must sign up for both the basketball team and the football team.

To explain a bit further, let’s use the ACC as an example. Your team is the North Carolina Tar Heels. You own a football team and a basketball team and will be competing against 89 other owners for the title. You could draft Antonio Brown in football and Steph Curry in basketball and you would be the only team to own that pair of players in your conference; however, a team in the AAC, Big 10, Big 12, Mountain West, PAC 12 and SEC could (and should) also own them.

You might be wondering how that can work if you are competing against everyone for a championship… Let me explain… Each sport will feature nonconference, conference and then postseason games. In the nonconference or postseason, your team (which owns Brown and Curry) might face a team that has the same players. But, the rest of the players on the team will be different and will make the difference in the final score. The chances of owners having the exact same teams are slim to none as we will hold inaugural offline drafts to start both the fantasy basketball and football leagues.

Speaking of the draft, the order for each conference has already been randomized and will be posted when the league is completely filled. Each conference will then start their own draft and draft until their teams are filled. (Trades are allowed within your conference and during the inaugural draft, but it must be an even trade… ex- 1 pick for 1 pick, 1 pick and 1 player for two picks, 1-1, 2-2, 3-3 and so on)

Once the drafts are complete, you are free to continue trading until the deadline in each sport. On any trades after the inaugural draft, the entire league will have a day to vote; if the trade is over 67% objected, the trade will be vetoed and the owners will have to rework the deal.

This league is a keeper league, meaning we will hold players from year to year. You must own at least 10 players in football and 12 in basketball to start. You can own up to 15 players in football and 15 in basketball to start. With each year that passes, there will be additional roster spots in each sport to hold rookies. A 2-round rookie draft in each sport will be held in the offseason.

Roster Setup- Football- 1QB/2RB/2WR/1TE/2FLEX/1K/1D,ST


The league is run through Fantrax and will require a $0.79 fee in both sports, so $1.78 total. There will be no contracts or salaries. There will be no payouts or additional fees.

The NCAA-theme has its effect on the conferences (divisions) and schedules, but it also mays a major role in the postseason. For football, there will be conference championships and bowls games; for basketball, a conference tournament, NIT Tournament and NCAA Tournament. There is going to be a committee that helps in deciding what teams deserve to play in what bowl game or be ranked at a certain seed. There is a sign up list posted on the league home page for that job and many others if you are looking to get involved with the league.

The league website is http://ncaafantasyleague.proboards.com/ and this is where a lot of the league content will be posted. Trading blocks will be posted here. Any league news or polls, league history and completed trades will be posted there. There is also a chat box and links to everything needed in the league from that link.

Here is a list of available teams:

AAC- Cincinnati, Connecticut, East Carolina, Houston, Memphis, SMU, South Florida, Temple, Tulane, Tulsa

ACC- Boston College, Clemson, Duke, Georgia Tech, Louisville, Miami, NC State, North Carolina, Syracuse, Virginia, Virginia Tech, Wake Forest

BIG 10- Illinois, Iowa, Maryland, Minnesota, Northwestern, Purdue, Rutgers

BIG 12- Baylor, Iowa State, Kansas State, Northern Illinois, Notre Dame, Oklahoma State, TCU, Texas, Texas Tech, West Virginia

MWC- Boise State, Colorado State, New Mexico, San Diego State, San Jose State, Wyoming

PAC 12- Arizona, Colorado, Oregon State, Stanford, Washington

SEC- Alabama, Arkansas, Auburn, Florida, Georgia, Missouri, South Carolina, Texas A&M, Vanderbilt

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this