Sign in to follow this  
jerryskids

Would you help him?

20 members have voted

1. 1. If there is a chance it could impact your getting a job?

Last week I threw my hat in the ring for a job as global account director to a specific customer with whom I have a lot of experience. The VP seemed kinda luke warm about it; in hindsight I could have done a better job highlighting my experience with this customer on my resume. Anyway, today I got an email from an old acquaintance with whom I covered this customer in the past -- he is talking to a company about an opportunity which sounds like the one I just described, and he asked if I remember the name of a specific contact we had there?

Hmm... I'm pretty sure I know the contact he is looking for. I'm also pretty confident, but not completely sure, that he is interviewing for the same job as above. I'm on friendly terms with him, but I wouldn't consider him a close friend.

So the question is: do I help him out with the contact name?

How long ago did you know him?

Thats a tough position, but I probably would give him the name, I wouldn't help with any interview prep, but I don't think giving a point of contact that you guys knew years ago will make a big difference.

Good Luck :cheers:

That's a tough one...I think the right thing to do would be to give him the name but...

Here ya go:

Don't give him the name.

When you go to sleep at night, instead of feeling guilty for him not being able to provide for his family and his children starving...justify your decision by telling yourself

"if he was truly as qualified for the job, he would have remembered the name of his customers instead of asking the more qualified Jerryskids who it was"

How long ago did you know him?

Thats a tough position, but I probably would give him the name, I wouldn't help with any interview prep, but I don't think giving a point of contact that you guys knew years ago will make a big difference.

Good Luck :cheers: