joneo 562 Posted December 6, 2009 This happened in the New Orleans/Washington game: Washington RB gets tackled and comes down on head and forearm is touching the ground as the ball is coming out. The ball squirts out and is recovered by New Orleans. HOWEVER, the ref blows the whistle when the ball is STILL LOOSE. The ref points the RB is down indicating there is not a fumble. They reverse the call and say the ball was coming out prior to being down, which I agree. BUT DOESN'T THE WHISTLE MAKE THE PLAY DEAD AT THAT POINT?? Couldn't Washington say the whistle stopped them from going for the fumble?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Ravens 03 0 Posted December 6, 2009 They changed that this year. Refs are supposed to allow the "who got the ball" scenario. And his elbow wasn't yet down before the ball as coming out. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tikigods 76 Posted December 6, 2009 The Saints didn't win that game....Washington lost it. If Suisham had hit that chip shot field goal the forearm would never have even happened. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
joneo 562 Posted December 6, 2009 They changed that this year. Refs are supposed to allow the "who got the ball" scenario. And his elbow wasn't yet down before the ball as coming out. I understand it was a fumble. And i understand the refs are supposed to allow who got the ball. BUT THE REF DIDN'T DO THAT AND BLEW THE WHISTLE. Isn't a dead ball at that point?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Ravens 03 0 Posted December 6, 2009 BUT THE REF DIDN'T DO THAT AND BLEW THE WHISTLE. Isn't a dead ball at that point?? No. Sorry. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
joneo 562 Posted December 6, 2009 No. Sorry. But do you understand my point?? If I was a Washington player and heard the whistle, I'm supposed to stop playing. The ref told them to stop. Just because New Orleans player doesn't abide by that, he gets the ball?? Summary: I agree it was a fumble. Whistle by definition means STOP play. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Ravens 03 0 Posted December 6, 2009 But do you understand my point?? If I was a Washington player and heard the whistle, I'm supposed to stop playing. The ref told them to stop. Just because New Orleans player doesn't abide by that, he gets the ball?? Summary: I agree it was a fumble. Whistle by definition means STOP play. I understand your point 100%. The rule changed this year to allow some of this "after the whistle play" after the Denver game last year [vs SD I think]. Just to determine possession. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
joneo 562 Posted December 6, 2009 I understand your point 100%. The rule changed this year to allow some of this "after the whistle play" after the Denver game last year [vs SD I think]. Just to determine possession. I found this which makes my point valid that they screwed up by reversing it: http://www.ehow.com/facts_4779509_nfl-inst...play-rules.html Plays that can be challenged?# There are a number of circumstances when plays can be challenged: Fumbles can be challenged. Referees can look to see if a player was down or touched down before the ball came out. If the ref blows the whistle after the fumble is called, the play is done. After the whistle blows, no challenge can be issued for anything occurring after the whistle. That is why, even if referees know there weren't fumbles, they will not blow their whistles so they can get a better look at it if a coach challenges the play. Along with fumble calls, coaches can challenge a quarterback fumble. If the quarterback loses the ball, a coach can challenge the play. The quarterback's arm often goes forward so it's called a forward pass, therefore an incomplete pass. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Ravens 03 0 Posted December 7, 2009 I found this which makes my point valid that they screwed up by reversing it: http://www.ehow.com/facts_4779509_nfl-inst...play-rules.html The call was a correct one. Again, sorry. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
edjr 6,898 Posted December 7, 2009 This happened in the New Orleans/Washington game: Washington RB gets tackled and comes down on head and forearm is touching the ground as the ball is coming out. The ball squirts out and is recovered by New Orleans. HOWEVER, the ref blows the whistle when the ball is STILL LOOSE. The ref points the RB is down indicating there is not a fumble. They reverse the call and say the ball was coming out prior to being down, which I agree. BUT DOESN'T THE WHISTLE MAKE THE PLAY DEAD AT THAT POINT?? Couldn't Washington say the whistle stopped them from going for the fumble?? Speaking of fail? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites