Sign in to follow this  
Know Doubt

Real Estate Prices Near Maine' Coast

Okay we're talking about possibly moving to the Maine on the coast off of Banghor and I looked on zillow and there's some really cheap houses there with great sq ft and acreage, etc...

http://www.zillow.com/homes/for_sale/Penobscot-ME-04476/59524_rid/3-_beds/100000-300000_price/385-1157_mp/44.595112,-68.341484,44.217401,-69.154472_rect/10_zm/1_fr/

so what gives?

some of these places have a street and then the focking atlantic ocean in front of them or with in sight, etc.

i know that age and possible repairs will be needed but why are some of these home ridiculously priced so low w/o mention of needing repairs???

do the entire water lines/electrical etc need to be replaced or the like?

anybody from Maine on here or in the Real Estate game?

i've been studying tucson, az for a few years and know that market but Maine is new to me.

thx.

high taxes i think is a big one, not a ton to do, cold, rainy seasons seem to last longer.

It is focking cold most of the time and there is not a lot around. If you like being in the middle of nowhere, there are some options.

I love Maine and it certainly has a lot to do if you like the outdoors. Ski areas, ocean, mountains, lakes,etc., I vacationed in Maine every summer when I was a kid. Up further North in Acadia National Park is some of the most beautiful scenery you could imagine. I think the prices may be low because there are not a lot of higher paying jobs there. Up in Acadia there are plenty of rich New Yorkers and Bostonians with expensive summer homes but I don't think there enough industries with high paying jobs to push the real estate prices up for the average person.

New Englanders too stupid to know a nice little setup when they see one. Jump on it, unless it's an investment property in which case you have to account for others' continuing stupidity