Sign in to follow this  
Patriotsfatboy1

Childhood hobbies?

The baseball thread where Strat-o-matic was mentioned had me thinking back to when I was a kid. I used to play that game all the time with my older brother. We had tons of teams and we would have full seasons where we kept stats on the results. I think it may have been one of the reasons that I was really good at math.

I collected some baseball cards, but never got into too many other hobbies other than playing sports. When I was around 12, I learned how to beat off. That became my hobby (probably still is). :dunno:

Other than playing sports, what hobbies did you do as a kid and was there any value derived later in life?

I started playing music pretty young. First piano, then violin (blech), trumpet for a little bit and I settled on drums in I think 3rd grade or so. I played through high school, was in a band and had a blast playing live. Some of my best memories.

Building and flying control line model airplanes...like this.

And, of course, making cyclops cry.

Brother-in-law gave me a guitar when I was about 10. It's been my refuge, outlet and enjoyment ever since.

Played the crap out of Strat-O-Matic. Had the basketball edition too.

Aside from sports, which were a year round pursuit, that's what I did.

I had (still do) every baseball card made from 1983 through 1993. I have no idea if they are worth anything anymore but it was fun collecting them all when I was a kid.

I was never into music all that much as a kid. I was a sports nut. My childhood consisted of playing baseball, soccer, basketball on teams and at home playing wiffleball or football in the backyard, riding our bmx bikes and skateboarding (I still have my Lance Mountain board in my attic)

The only "hobby" I had was the baseball cards and maybe Nintendo.